Author Topic: Just want to understand the math  (Read 2996 times)

newelljack

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Just want to understand the math
« on: September 29, 2016, 01:33:12 PM »
I'm new to all of this (as evidenced by my wacky posts I'm sure) but I just want to check with you guys on my math...

Wife and I currently do not put anything extra into retirement (automatically deducted for CA state teachers retirement plan) and we are down to 12k in student loans, 7k at 6.55% interest, the rest at only 3.15%.

So this is how my math works out. That 7k in student loan debt will cost us $455 this year making minimum payments (7,000 x 0.065 = 455) but we have 1k that I have been throwing towards it recently. Would that 1k be better served going into a 403b pre-tax since our tax rate is nearly 25% (12,000 x 0.25 = 3,000)? Or should I wait until the 7k of high interest is paid first? Is there more to this that I am missing? Would you rather I write a full case study?

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Just want to understand the math
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 02:41:19 PM »
I'm new to all of this (as evidenced by my wacky posts I'm sure) but I just want to check with you guys on my math...

Wife and I currently do not put anything extra into retirement (automatically deducted for CA state teachers retirement plan) and we are down to 12k in student loans, 7k at 6.55% interest, the rest at only 3.15%.

So this is how my math works out. That 7k in student loan debt will cost us $455 this year making minimum payments (7,000 x 0.065 = 455) but we have 1k that I have been throwing towards it recently. Would that 1k be better served going into a 403b pre-tax since our tax rate is nearly 25% (12,000 x 0.25 = 3,000)? Or should I wait until the 7k of high interest is paid first? Is there more to this that I am missing? Would you rather I write a full case study?

A full case study would be best.