Author Topic: Just switched internet providers, modem question!  (Read 6971 times)

khotte

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Badass Mustachian Twins!
Just switched internet providers, modem question!
« on: February 27, 2015, 10:25:44 AM »
Hi there!

To save some money every month, I switched to CenturyLink for their internet service. I pay $35/month for 25Mbps. They set me up with a VDSL modem, but they are going to charge me a monthly lease fee for the modem. I'd like to buy my own modem so I don't have to pay the leasing fee every month.

I just purchased the TP-Link TD-8616 before they set up my internet, but I guess that's an ADSL2+ instead of a VDSL. No idea what the difference is, or if I can use that instead of buying yet another modem. I'm not an expert in this area at all. I did have a Motorola Surfboard for my Brighthouse internet, but CenturyLink uses DSL instead of coax. Any suggestions on which modem to purchase? Also, I'll need help setting up the new modem in bridge mode to connect to my Apple Time Capsule I already own.

If anyone could help, that would be amazing! Thanks!

mandy_2002

• Bristles
Re: Just switched internet providers, modem question!
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 10:32:13 AM »
I don't have the technical knowledge that you're seeking, but whenever companies have this leasing fee, they typically also have an option (though not always advertised) to buy the modem.  I've bought two in 8 years, and each time it cost just shy of a year of leasing. 

My suggestion is that you ask the company about your options.  If you get a nice technical service agent, they may tell you which Best Buy version will work for you so you can compare.  I wouldn't count on this, but if you're calm and amiable, they may be as well.

khotte

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2015, 10:34:10 AM »