Author Topic: Just realized my after tax account is an IRA. FUCK.  (Read 8742 times)

80Westy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Just realized my after tax account is an IRA. FUCK.
« on: August 20, 2014, 07:40:16 PM »
Hello Mustachians.  Not fellow Mustacians, as none of you would make the mistake that I just discovered.  I have been bopping along for a few months with the idea that my lone after tax brokerage account had a balance around $50,000.  It is linked with my IRA and DW's IRA at the brokerage, so one login allows me to access all 3 accounts.  I have been mentally setting aside this money to cover DD's first two years of college, which would start classes in one year.  The money is still invested, not particularly well, in funds like the front load Seligman Communications and Information fund.  I have been thinking to sell since the market could drop any time, but I have hesitant since I would incur gains this year which would be taxed.  I also have been talking to DW about replacing her gas guzzling 2002 Grand Cherokee with something more mustachian, also thinking the account could be used for that purchase. 

So, it was quite a shock tonight when I realized the after tax account has $507, and the linked IRA's have the $50,000 balance.  Feeling pretty dumb / disorganized right now.  The car purchase is now on indefinite hold.  Wife has reacted well, considering her heart was set on the new whip. 

My question to all you Mustachians:  How can I use the IRA funds for DD's college without getting killed on taxes and early withdrawl penalties?  I have $450,000 combined in previous and current employer 401(k)'s, and $10,000 in home equity.

Thank you for reading about my situation.  Looking forward to great advice and face punches!

usmarine1975

Re: Just realized my after tax account is an IRA. FUCK.
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 08:16:39 PM »
http://www.irs.gov/uac/What-if-I-withdraw-money-from-my-IRA%3F.      Should be able to answer your questions.

robotqueen