Author Topic: Just opened my Roth IRA account at Vanguard. What now? Please help.  (Read 9072 times)

xclonexclonex

• Stubble
Hello all,

Just to give you a quick background, I am not an American yet. I am a permanent resident, and after reading on the internet, I learned about IRAs. I was hesitant to open an investment account because I realize there is a risk of me losing it all, minimal as it may be. However, I realized that the only way to ensure a comfortable retirement is to invest in a retirement account.

Now that I have opened a Roth IRA account. What should I do? I only transferred $50 from my checking account into my Vanguard account. Is that good enough to start? Should I transfer more?

If this is the wrong place to ask, or if I am asking the wrong questions, I apologize.

I thought about going to a professional for advice, but I thought I should ask here first before I did anything.

Thanks for your time.

pzxc

• Stubble
Re: Just opened my Roth IRA account at Vanguard. What now? Please help.
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2014, 08:51:35 AM »
Now that you have a Roth IRA account, there is only one thing to do.  Max that sucker out!!!  :)  You are allowed to put $5,500 in it per year.  You have until April 15th of the FOLLOWING year to do it.  So you have until April 15th, 2015 to make contributions for the 2014 year.  You don't have to max it out each year, but you get more benefit the more you put in.