Author Topic: Job Prospects. What would you do?  (Read 3058 times)

Eleden

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Job Prospects. What would you do?
« on: July 12, 2014, 05:08:17 PM »
I am a Web Developer by trade and after coming across MMM about a year ago I decided to start side hustling for extra cash. This side hustling has now created new opportunities should I choose to take them.

About a month ago one of the clients I side hustle for offered me a full time job whenever they were ready to bring me on. Last week he gave me a hard offer and wants me to start ASAP. He doesn't care if I work for him full time as a salaried employee or if I work as an independent contractor, as long as I can guarantee 30 hours of work a week for 6 months. It's a small company with a lot of potential growth with an owner that really care about his employees.

Now I'm in a pickle. I'm not very happy at my current job. The work isn't interesting and morale there isn't very good. I put my 2 weeks notice in last Thursday, and they have since offered me an extra week of vacation, a substantial salary hike, and are going to work with me on the issues I have with a current project (one of the main reasons I decided to leave).

I have to let both employers know my decision come this Monday. I spent a couple hours this morning crunching numbers and here's what it looks like for each option.

Option 1 - Stay at current job w/ new salary and continue side hustling
Vacation: 4 weeks plus 7 holidays.
Take home income after taxes and health insurance: $40,775
Money that will be invested: $40,125
Total income: $80,900
Savings rate: 49.6%

Option 2 - Take salaried job at new employer and continue side hustling
Vacation: Unregulated. Take it as you need it, don't abuse it.
Take home income after taxes and health insurance: $40,480
Money that will be invested: $29,875
Total income: $70,355
Savings rate: 42.5%

Option 3 - Become an Independent Contractor
Vacation: As much as I want, but unpaid. Budgeting for 3 weeks.