Author Topic: Job Opportunity (Lawyer): Triple my Salary, but Long Commute and More Hours  (Read 32970 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
ETA: please do not quote for privacy reasons. I'll probably delete this after a couple days. Thanks.

I am an attorney in a small midwestern town. Specific information is below, but the long story short of it is that I received a recruiting email on Friday that was very intriguing. This wasn't your traditional spammy recruiting email--it seemed that this legal recruiter really targeted me and crafted an email that exactly fit my skill set and experience. I think my resume (academic and experience) is exactly what the new firm is looking for, so I think I'd be great candidate.

So here's the TL;DR. Current job pays $48k/year, has a short commute (15 minutes), has a low billable hour requirement. Potential new job pays $150k/year, but would have a much higher billable hour requirement and a significantly longer commute (an hour).

Here's a more thorough breakdown:

Current Job

Pros of Working at Current Job

Low billable hour requirement (1400)
Relatively laid back environment
Very well respected firm in local community
Get along well with almost all staff and attorneys
Minimal commute
Lot of autonomy with practice areas
Potentially inherit retiring partner's book of business
Enjoy local legal community/clients

Cons of Working at Current Firm

Uncertain future—lots of partners retiring
Curious whether previous mistakes may follow me to partnership decision
Minimal salary growth due to local area

Salary Notes

$48,000 per year
Currently receiving $704 net paycheck (maxing everything)
Hoping to negotiate raise to $52,000
Very minimal bonus
401k and decent benefits

Potential Job

Pros of Working at New Firm

Position needed fills skill set/experience
Prestigious international law firm
Very high salary and benefits
Would be more specialized in labor and employment
Would enjoy working in city