Author Topic: Job opportunities for a stay at home mom  (Read 6475 times)

Missourians

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Job opportunities for a stay at home mom
« on: February 27, 2016, 08:21:49 AM »
Hello! I am currently an elementary teacher. I have a one year old and we are expecting another in September. I would like to be a stay at home mom. I love my job, but want to be home with my own kids while they are little. I have a bachelor's  degree in elementary education. We need to replace approximately  $30,000 for me to be able to stay home. I am looking for job/career opportunities  that can be done from home. I appreciate all help. Thanks!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Job opportunities for a stay at home mom
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 08:35:24 AM »
I'd suggest you check out the many, many threads on side-gigs and such, but 30k (net, I'm assuming) from home is a larger scale than most of those.  Still probably worth looking at, to see if you can scale any of them up, but a lot of them simply won't scale.

Rather than looking for a career/job opportunity, have you thought about creating one for yourself?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2016, 08:45:04 AM »
Congrats on the pregnancy.

Ideas:
Tutoring
Editing
In-home day care
Transcription
Translation
Technical writing

It really depends on your skills and inclinations. A lot of office billing can be done from home, etc, but most of those require a previous relationship with the company to find.