Author Topic: Job Offer Review: Do I take it? Should I move closer?  (Read 1552 times)

maginvizIZ

• Bristles
Job Offer Review: Do I take it? Should I move closer?
« on: March 20, 2019, 08:38:37 AM »
YESSS!!!

After 4 interviews, and countering the offer twice... I finally have agreed to terms.  I work in finance with 5 years experience (masters in finance as well).

Current company (national defense)
Sal: $67k; 5% 401k match ($70,350 gross)
Handcuffs:  I'll have to pay back $12,500 in tuition, and  lose $5k in my 401k (ouch)
Cost of Healthcare:$1,285

New company (FinTech)
Sal: $85k; 15% bonus paid quarterly  ($97,750 gross)
Cost of Healthcare: Free

My current job is extremely boring/slow.  The new one sounds fast due to extreme growth.  I love what the company is doing... I'm a little worried about this 15% bonus, but HR assured me everyone usually get this...

What would you do?

If I do take the job (which honestly I'm leaning heavily towards), do I move?

Current apartment: 21 minute commute (19.7 miles), I pay ~600 a month (I live alone, this is below market rent.  I don't know why he's renting it out for so low)

Potential new apartment: 7 minute commute (2.2 miles), I'd pay ~550 a month (assuming I get 1 roommate).

Any feedback is GREATLY appreicated!  Bahhh I'm so excited!!!!

calimom

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Job Offer Review: Do I take it? Should I move closer?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2019, 12:16:28 PM »
Hey congratulations! That's a big salary bump! The new company clearly saw what a smart, capable candidate you are.

Regarding the housing situation, is the 21 mile commute in horrible, horrible traffic? Would the proposed commute be doable by bike or walking? In any case, I'd recommend getting started in the new job, becoming acclimated and then make a housing switch. Not sure what part of the country you're in, but $600 is a mighty cheap rent.

Best of luck!

BicycleB

• Walrus Stache
  • Older than the internet, but not wiser... yet