Author Topic: Job history is. lengthy, how do I explain to potential employers?  (Read 3374 times)

hhihe730

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm looking to get out of my current job soon. The business is privately owned and is sinking fast. People have been let go, pay cuts, etc. I was told I was next and have been looking like mad for other jobs.
I landed an interview this week. But I'm nervous about it because this is the first opportunity I've come across in about 8 months and it seems like a good one. It's a lunch interview followed by an office tour and I'm really out of touch with interviews at this point as I haven't been on one in about 4 years (it was a disaster). I was planning to offer to pay for my own meal... Not sure if I should wear a suit or just business casual... Someone even told me to order the same thing as everyone else...? So any tips would be appreciated as well.
But my biggest issue is that I've changed jobs often since I graduated school. I'm sure they'll ask about it and I need some answers that are positive and explain my decisions well.

If it does comes up at the interview, should I one by one give my reasons for leaving each place or just try to come up with a nice statement like, "well my job history is extensive but I've learned a lot from each place...." that kind of thing?
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 08:09:26 AM by hhehe45 »

Paul der Krake

• Walrus Stache
Re: Job history is. lengthy, how do I explain to potential employers?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2018, 10:55:18 AM »
You're way overthinking this... nobody cares if you've had 4 jobs, and definitely do not offer to pay for your own meal.

Also, job #2 sounds illegal as hell.

COEE

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2018, 11:01:41 AM »