Author Topic: Job Dilemma  (Read 2247 times)

onecoolcat

• Pencil Stache
Job Dilemma
« on: February 28, 2018, 01:50:57 PM »
I'm a 4th year attorney in a niche field.  I currently work in a small firm but I generally like it and find my boss tolerable and he likes my work.  I've been here for under 2-years.  I was contacted by a recruiter and went to interview for a mid-size firm.  I wasn't looking to lateral but I was convinced to talk with the firm by the recruiter who has never previously placed me but has given me good advice in the past (i.e. told me not to lateral at the time because my situation was good and what he was placing wasn't what he thought was best for me).  Nothing has changed in my current situation (I got the expected raises but nothing big changed) but he said this new firm was the one he thought was right for me.  It's an established midlaw firm that has a large part of its practice in my niche field.  I met with a few of the partners and had a very positive impression of them.  I received an offer.  It's 20% more than I currently make and its a little closer to my house (commute will go from 1 hour to 45 min).  The billable hour requirement is a little higher but its good billable requirement in terms of work/life balance for attorneys.

Dilemma is that I'm in a good spot now but I think this new opportunity is better for my career.  I think the biggest thing holding me back is that I don't want to put my current boss in a bad spot staffing wise as we are a small firm and the only other associate has their last day this week.

Is there any reason why I should stay where I'm at out of loyalty?

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Re: Job Dilemma
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2018, 02:07:21 PM »
No. It's business. Leave on good terms, wrap up what you can and leave good notes for whomever picks up the rest. Push comes to shove, the firm won't hesitate to cut your benefits/increase billable targets.

Brother Esau

• Pencil Stache