Author Topic: Job Choices  (Read 3032 times)

Patrick A

• Stubble
Job Choices
« on: October 28, 2015, 10:41:48 PM »
Hello all,

I'm in the midst of an interesting work situation and thought this would be a constructive place to use as a sounding board while I kick things around in my head. 

I work in the power industry as an engineer/consultant, for a ~25 person consulting firm.  I love what I do and am good enough at it that I should be able to keep myself busy no matter what happens with the firm, but I often have the problem of having too much work (especially lately) and sometimes find myself working too much even though I try hard not to.  I am also slightly worried about the future of the firm since there are some organizational hurdles that will need to be cleared in the next 2-3 years to remain successful.  I am thrilled by the high pace and high mental requirements of my job.  It certainly allows me to push my mental capacity on a daily basis, but the counterpoint is that the rest of my life sometimes isn't as full or is far busier due to the effort I put into it. 

My wife and I have decided that we love the small/medium size town we live in (~50,000 people) and do not want to leave since it provides us with an awesomely mustachian super high quality lifestyle.  In the past, job offers have been easy to politely turn down because they would require us to move. 

I am currently being recruited by a local utility to work as an engineer for them.  The job description reads like a list of my interests and the pay would be equivalent or slightly higher than my base pay now (but no bonuses at a utility).  Working for a utility likely means a slower pace, good for my marriage and social life and hobbies, but I am afraid I won't love it as much because of the slower pace and the fact that I may get bored.  It would also be rock solid in terms of job stability.