Author Topic: Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?  (Read 7416 times)

Swat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?
« on: July 11, 2017, 05:00:29 PM »
My wife has a three pieces of jewelry worth about $20k in all. For the past couple years we've paid for jewelry insurance at a cost of approximately $320 dollars annually. Not a great deal of money, but the more I read and learn about finance, the more I see that you should only insure things you can't overcome...life, disability, homeowner's, etc... Jewelry insurance doesn't seem to make the cut. Currently I'm a resident but will be an attending in a year. My question is if anyone out there has jewelry insurance and whether it is something worth having at all...or only in select situations. Thanks. 

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
Re: Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 05:08:35 PM »
Your homeowners or renters insurance usually covers this. I would check.

Lady SA

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2017, 05:15:54 PM »
+1 to checking your homeowners policy. In the event of loss or theft often you can claim that (but run the numbers and make sure making a claim isn't detrimental to you, often making a claim will raise your rates). Might not make financial sense to make a claim on a $1k ring, but a $20k ring is another story.

I am very sentimental about my rings, but don't have insurance on them. I don't get them cleaned at a jewelry store, I clean them myself but have only done this once in the 3 years of wearing them. Rings don't need a lot of ongoing repair or maintenance--probably cheaper in the long run to pay for adjustments/repairs as needed (rarely if ever). Other than that I literally can't think of anything else besides loss/theft and possibly maintenance that you would ever want insurance for jewelry.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2017, 05:18:34 PM by Lady Smartass »

JoJo

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2017, 05:16:05 PM »