Author Topic: It operations to development  (Read 2128 times)

tyler2016

• Stubble
    • Tyler's Guides
It operations to development
« on: July 14, 2017, 03:07:39 PM »
I currently work in IT operations, mostly with UNIX and Linux.  For a variety of reasons, I am burned out and tired of it. I would like to move to more of a development or programmers role. I have 7 or so years until FI, so waiting it out isn't what I want to do.

I have done lot of small programming projects with C, Python, C++, perl, and shell scripts at my current and previous job. I am comfortable with memory management, concurrency, input validation, and other good practices. I am so-so with Java, never built anything, but have read and troubleshot Java code. I haven't done much with SQL or any of the latest buzzword frameworks.

I don't have a lot of free time to contribute to or build my own  open source project, but could make some if necessary.

Any advice?

PlainsWalker

• Stubble
Re: It operations to development
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 04:11:41 PM »
I made the move from implementations to development a few years ago. I've been happy with the change.

I earned a Computer Science degree in college and had originally wanted to be a programmer. Graduating into the Great Recession made job acquisition challenging. So I had settled for the implementations position when it was offered. When things picked up and they needed warm bodies in development I was in the hiring manager's office with bells on. Its like anything else if you show up on time, clean, sober, and ready to work you can beat the socks off 90% of the competition.

tyler2016

• Stubble
    • Tyler's Guides
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2017, 04:57:51 PM »
I don't have my CS BS. I have an associates in electronics and have taken most of the high level CS and math. Think algorithms, linear algebra, cryptography, languages, etc. A lot of the stuff I need is the gen ed stuff, I just never finished due to family obligations.

Spork