Author Topic: It's clear the robot will take over my job- preparation advice needed  (Read 2107 times)

danakado

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Although most people in my organization are in denial, it seems clear to me that my position (and those of my colleagues) will phase out.  I work in Finance at a large company and am a CPA.  Loads of our forecasting/analysis work is starting to be done using advanced analytics by our overseas headquarters team.  Although I raise this all the time, nobody seems that concerned.  I think the next downturn will see many of us laid off. 

I have about 8 more years until I hope to retire and I love where I work.  It's flexible, I work reduced hours so I can manage family needs and the pay is great.  So I'm not that keen to jump ship early. 

What I'm not sure about is when to start updating my skills for work outside the company or if I try to better position myself within the company.  Also not sure if I try and ride it out and see what happens?  We are currently very profitable. 
I could certainly set up to do CPA work (although I've only ever worked for large companies), but it seems like a lot work for a fraction of the pay.  I would love to learn more about advanced analytics but with 8 years of career left and lots of younger talent I'm not sure if that is viable.  In general I love to learn to new things but I've never been very entrepreneurial. 

Thoughts/ideas? 

TexasRunner

• Pencil Stache
Re: It's clear the robot will take over my job- preparation advice needed
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2019, 09:59:52 AM »