Author Topic: Is using my minimal retirement savings for down payment a terrible idea?  (Read 6150 times)

PaulM12345

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
(I hope this isn't bad form here, but I'm reposting part of a post I made in the investing category; I realized it's not specifically about investing, but home buying too, so this might be a better place for it...)

Hello,

I have a question about what to do about my retirement savings.

My family has no debt and we rent a house. We have been relatively thrifty over the years. I got some money for college from a relative about 10 years ago, and I worked in college so I managed to have about $16,000 left over when I graduated. About six years ago I entered a brief period of investment excitement, and I invested it in Vanguard funds. I have about $12K in Roth IRAs, and $4K in a regular Individual account.

My wife and I want to buy a house. I won't go into whether or not this would be a good investment here, but let's assume it IS for the moment (and we're planning on paying it off quickly).

Now, I believe that I can use my Roth IRA funds for a down payment on a first home purchase without paying early withdrawal fees. a) Is this true? b) How do I determine whether this makes sense or not? Do I prioritize getting a 20% down payment together? The standard doctrine is to not touch my retirement at all. They way I see it though, is that 16K is not that much money and it's not making money either. My wife and I have good careers and the potential to save a lot more over the next 10 years, at least moving in the direction early retirement, if not fully retired. I like my job and it is very flexible, so I don't particularly want to retire from it anyway.

So: What should I do? Cash out my $16K in about a years time and count it towards my down payment? Or save less than 20% and keep my investments invested?

I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache