Author Topic: Is this crazy? Want to revamp.  (Read 3709 times)

sparky28

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is this crazy? Want to revamp.
« on: February 16, 2016, 01:54:43 PM »
Background:
25, $180k NW ($150k 401k, HSA, IRA, taxable/$30k cash), working corporate job.
~$75k Salary, 60% Savings Rate.
FI in possibly 8 years at this pace.

I've been working at this place for 3 years, and feel on the cusp of hitting another level of workload and responsibility, with matching salary bump to follow within a year or two. This could accelerate my FI by another year or so, so I could hit that mark around age 31 or so. All in all, a good position to be in.

By all metrics, I'm doing well, but I'm feeling... unsatisfied. I'm at the point where I've saved enough that I'm dangerous. The $30k is staring me in the face, threatening me to spend it, and I'm afraid to blink.

Over the last year, my satisfaction has dropped dramatically, and my "FU" mentality has kicked in. That's not good, as I'm not at the FU stage. This hasn't been seen by my coworkers yet, but it's poison in my mind - I get the "Sunday Dreads" almost every night thinking about the work ahead of me. The work drains me, so I don't have '"time" to pursue my other passions at night. Long weekends can invigorate me a tad, but there aren't enough of those in the year. I've tried  many times to balance both work and my hobbies (money-making or otherwise), and I just.. can't.

I'm considering leaving this job (which I'm good at, have received accolades for, and is extremely stable) to jump into... nothing. It's terrifying - I've spent my entire life working for a job like this, and I'm pushing back so soon.

Here's my thoughts of how to revamp:
$5k - Website development. Build out a skill set, with the focus of starting up a passive income (initial goal: $100/month to build experience)
$15k - 6 months of slow travel, taking a month here and there. Thinking Thailand, Iceland, New Zealand, some of the PCT?