Author Topic: Is my debt an emergency?  (Read 5940 times)

Stone11

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is my debt an emergency?
« on: August 16, 2016, 08:00:12 PM »
Hi all,

I have boiled my question down to this:

I have two large debts and would like your input as to whether they constitute a "debt emergency" that requires my immediate attention or if I should focus first on maxing-out my investments before putting any extra money towards the debts. 

(1) Mortgage - about $135k at 4.25% interest.  Based on my review of the site, it seems most are of the opinion that I should opt to invest extra funds rather than pay down the mortgage at this interest rate.

(2) Student Loans - about $145K at 8.25% (law school).  I am five years in and am paying the loan back via the government's income-based repayment plan.  This cuts my monthly payment to about 1/4 to 1/3 of what I would be paying if I chose to pay it back in ten-years.  Under the income based repayment plan that was available when I graduated, I am required to pay 15% of my discretionary income per month, so obviously the amount I am to pay fluctuates with my income, but my monthly payment will never exceed what I would pay monthly under a standard 10-year loan repayment.  Additionally, the entire balance of my loan is forgiven after 25 years (20 years from now).  However, the forgiveness of the loan is treated as income during the tax year in which it is forgiven. 

So, given the two loans I have right now, should I put all my extra money towards maxing out my IRA, 401(k), and HSA or is my debt an emergency that I should prioritize paying off over saving (moral issues of repaying full loan amounts aside)?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Nick_Miller

• Handlebar Stache
  • Location: A sprawling estate with one of those cool circular driveways in the front!
Re: Is my debt an emergency?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 08:09:37 PM »