Author Topic: is it worth it?  (Read 3042 times)

celine31

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
is it worth it?
« on: July 27, 2016, 10:20:45 AM »
hi everyone! Newbie here.
So  I recently moved to ireland and have a good job and I'm thinking about saving up to 50% of my salary.
The company I work for is offering to match our pension contribution up to 7% which technically is free money.
The thing is I don't know if 1) I'll be staying with that company, 2) my goal is to be financially independent in the next ten years by buying properties and renting them so I'm hoping I wont be working a 9-5 job in a few years.
SO my question is, it it work investing in a pension plan in my situation, knowing I'll only have access to it when I turn 60(I'm currently 31)? or should I just save up to buy properties?
Also,should I buy a house for myself first or a rental one first?
thank you. Sorry if my questions are dumb or basics but I just only recently decided to think about my future!

jim555

• Magnum Stache
Re: is it worth it?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2016, 10:24:46 AM »
I think you would be crazy to pass up a 100% match up to 7%.

celine31

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2016, 10:26:50 AM »
I know !But then I'm thinking it's money I wont be able to use for like 30 years and I'm thinking I'd be better off saving up for a project that is gonna happen in the next few years, right?

snogirl

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2016, 10:41:50 AM »
I'd take free money match today.

celine31

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2016, 10:44:22 AM »
okay thanks for the advice!

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2016, 03:57:09 PM »
yep... take free money wherever you can find it.

Who cares if you can't access it for 29 years... you'll have an awesome life when you do get to that age and you'll thank your 31 year old self.

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2016, 04:12:24 PM »