Author Topic: Is it worth it to recharacterize my 2015 IRA contribution?  (Read 4771 times)

Dollar Slice

• Walrus Stache
Is it worth it to recharacterize my 2015 IRA contribution?
« on: February 03, 2016, 08:24:36 AM »
I put $5500 into my Vanguard Roth IRA last year, but as I understand it I could still recharacterize it as a tIRA. I'm in the 25% tax bracket for federal but live in a high-tax area (NYC) so my overall marginal tax rate is pretty high (35.1%, I think?) when you include local and state.

Is recharacterizing pretty simple to do? I feel like this is something I should do but I have no experience with it so maybe I'm missing something.

Axecleaver

• Magnum Stache
Re: Is it worth it to recharacterize my 2015 IRA contribution?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2016, 08:47:52 AM »
It's worth it. Should take about 10 minutes. At 35% marginal rate, you would save 5500 * .35  = $1925 tax savings.

That's an hourly rate of nearly $12,000.

ooeei

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2016, 08:57:31 AM »
If I may tag on to this question.  I'm married with a house and no kids, income last year combined was ~160,000. 

Wife and I contributed fully to Roth IRA's . . . but we are getting up there in terms of tax bracket as well.  Is it worth it for us to re-characterize and make them traditional while we are earning this much?

You need to check to make sure you're eligible for deducting TIRA contributions from your taxes.  I think you're over the limit, but I'm not sure.

2Birds1Stone

• Walrus Stache
  • K Thnx Bye
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2016, 09:02:21 AM »
Phase out for married starts at 98,000 and ends at 108,000

Unless you maxed out 401ks, HSA's, etc I think you are over the limit.

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2016, 09:10:47 AM »