Author Topic: Is it worth it to keep going to school?  (Read 3069 times)

dave_the_wave

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it worth it to keep going to school?
« on: November 18, 2016, 04:36:37 PM »
Some background:

I'm debt free and I have a two-year technical degree. I've been promoted into middle management and make $86,000 in my position. I'm going back to school for Electrical Engineering but it is sucking the life out of me because I'm constantly working or at school. I don't have much free time because I'm working full-time and taking a full-time course load at school. Also, I live close to work but have to drive to school, which is about 30 miles roundtrip every day.

I've developed the habit of facepunching myself every time I drive, but right now it's a necessity. The degree will solidify my income a bit because if I were to ever leave the company (though I wouldn't want to because I like my work), I could land another position that pays just as well without having to justify the value of my experience. I may also make more money at my current job as a result of finishing my degree. I have approximately 3 years left of school.

Should I stay the course and finish off the degree?

tawyer

• Bristles
Re: Is it worth it to keep going to school?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 04:47:17 PM »
Yes, you should stay the course, unless you have something better to do with your free time.

JPinkerton524

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 04:48:37 PM »
What is the cost of school? Are you happy with your current job?

With a 75% SR you could retire in a few short years, keep that in mind when you consider staying in school.

I think it greatly depends on the time you want to stay in Corporate America, and the cost of school.

It's hardly ever ROI positive if you're paying 20k+ per year.

What is your technical degree in?

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2016, 04:53:38 PM »