Author Topic: Is it un-mustachian to purchase this drum kit?  (Read 5660 times)

Polket

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it un-mustachian to purchase this drum kit?
« on: April 15, 2014, 03:16:25 PM »
Hello all,

I'm a professional drummer when I'm not in the office cranking away on the computer in IT. I play a few times a month and my income from drumming nets me about 400-800 extra dollars a month on average. This is extra money I am using currently to help me pay off my student loan debt faster.

I'm looking to spend $2,200 on a new drum kit.

My Justification:

I am starting to play in different venues and shows as I expand my drumming horizons that require me to buy a different drum kit that better fits these types of gigs. Whether you believe it or not, the size of the drums really do matter to other musicians and venue owners. My current kit has really big drum shells and is mainly used for large venues / amphitheater situations. I've been having trouble using this in smaller venues that require quieter sound. This new kit would fill the need for a pro-level kit that has smaller drum shells for quieter places but still delivers the same tone and sound that my main bigger kit produces.

I have no current emergency debt other than the student loans. But this kit could pay itself off in a matter of months. I just feel dirty getting my tax return back and immediately spending it on this.

Or am I really being just overly cautious here and ridiculous?

EMP

• Bristles
Re: Is it un-mustachian to purchase this drum kit?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 03:29:14 PM »
You can find a great deal on drums through craigslist.  Even a nice sparkly set of DW's, so does it have to be new?

And are you selling your old kit?  How much will you get for it?

One kit is perfectly understandable, and I'll even let you have an extra snare, but you have a debt emergency.  No need to have an extra kit around taking up space.