Author Topic: Is it too late to start?  (Read 3485 times)

cbaird99

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it too late to start?
« on: March 07, 2016, 03:35:32 PM »
Hi everyone! I've been reading lots of the blog posts and really enjoying them, but wondering if this philosophy could apply to me at this point, other than I am sure I could save a bit more money which of course is a good thing. So, I will give some info about my situation and see if you all have any suggestions:)

I am 59, female, I was widowed five years ago. With the life insurance money I was able to pay off my home and all the debt and buy a new car. I am still debt free at this point. I work full time (hate my job btw, I am a bookkeeper), but it is close to home and not stressful. I make $37k a year. I also get two pensions from my husband's jobs which I will have for life, they are each about $500/month and this is net of my govt. health insurance which is taken out. Although I have no debt I have the "normal" expenses of food, utilities, insurance, pet care etc. I have $35k in an IRA which is in 4 mutual funds at Scottrade, and then I have about $20k in a savings account. I am in pretty good health so far. So...I know I can and should save more each month I need to get off my butt and do it. But at my age...early retirement? I really want to retire by 62 and participate in my grandkids lives (one so far). There is no way to save up enough that it will generate any income, it will just be money that I will probably need at some point. Since I am a widow I will be eligible at 60 to start drawing SS on my husbands pay, I don't think I can meet with SSA until 6 months before I am eligible, so I do not have those numbers but I am guessing if I draw that early it will probably be about $1500 a month. Thoughts on things I could do to maximize my situation? BTW my home is small and well maintained, in a decent neighborhood, and there would be no way to really downsize as I would just be swapping dollars. Thanks ahead f