Author Topic: Is it time to give up on maintaining my yard?  (Read 9948 times)

MrD

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it time to give up on maintaining my yard?
« on: September 04, 2013, 10:27:56 AM »
I have a relatively hard yard to maintain, it is only about .33 acres but the shape is a pain. I have an extremely high angle hill in the very back of my yard that is very dangerous to mow. Also I am terrible at weed control / fertilization / edging so my yard looks like crap. I am a traveling consultant so generally I am only home Friday - Sunday so giving up a lot of time while home just seems insane to me.

I have not 100% made up my mind yet on hiring some one to do it, but so far from the quotes I have received it would cost $1100/annually to take care of my yard including: mowing, edging, blowing, fertilizer, weed control.

I know it is very anti-mustachian but I really value my time while at home and I really just suck at all of the above. I do not pay for any food/travel/hotel etc while on the road so my expenses for things like food/gas/electric etc. are much lower than most. I only don't pay for a cell phone. I figure I can justify the (hurts to say) ~$91/month for this.

Anyone have some insight on how I should either fork over the cash or how I can learn how to do this all relatively well? My dad always did all this stuff growing up and I never really learned how. (He REALLY enjoyed taking care of his lawn.)

jrhampt

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Is it time to give up on maintaining my yard?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 10:31:14 AM »
Can you focus your efforts on the front and ignore the back half with the steep slope?  Either let it grow long or try to plant some sort of ground cover such as English ivy and just let that take over?

JohnGalt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 10:35:42 AM »