Author Topic: Is it Anti-Mustachian to become a Financial Planner?  (Read 8714 times)

Blaise

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it Anti-Mustachian to become a Financial Planner?
« on: March 26, 2012, 09:35:16 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm looking for some feedback about an idea I have.  As I'm sure is the case with many of my fellow Mustachians, I get pumped when it comes to finding new and exciting ways to drop my expenses, but I'm not very happy with the money making side of things, i.e. my job.

To accelerate myself towards freedom, I am considering doing some paid financial planning as a side hustle.  As a CPA, I'm already fairly qualified to do this type of work, even though I have no specific experience or expertise when it comes to personal financial planning other than reading PF blogs and books in my spare time.  Before taking on any paid work, I would be sure to buff up on relevant PF topics.

Even though I'm new to the ways of the mustache, I feel like I could really help people without the desire, knowledge, or time to DIY when it comes to planning for their financial future and potentially considering ER.  Obviously everyone reading this blog would scoff at the idea of paying for money advice, but most of the general public isn't as motivated to be so hands on with their finances.  And of course I would be one of the "good guy" financial planners, offering sound, mustache approved wisdom.

Judging from some of the other posts on here, financial planners aren't looked at all that favorably in this corner of the internet.  But what do you guys think?

Is it Anti-Mustachian to be a paid financial planner?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Is it Anti-Mustachian to become a Financial Planner?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2012, 09:46:46 PM »
I've thought of it too, because I know so much about the topic and feel most financial planners are just so wrong about much of their advice.

I'd bet a lot of us here have.