Author Topic: Is iPhone Ownership Antithetical to FI?  (Read 9614 times)

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
Is iPhone Ownership Antithetical to FI?
« on: August 05, 2012, 11:43:29 PM »
Just thought I'd ask.  It seems to go along with the home ownership question, as lots of people spend considerable money on iPhones and service plans, when they could get by with a cheap pay-as-you-go phone.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Is iPhone Ownership Antithetical to FI?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2012, 01:24:03 AM »
Ugh.  Are we going to have a million of these topics?

To answer all the "Is ____ anti-Mustachian or antithetical to FI?" questions:

Any non-deliberate, wasteful spending is anti-Mustachian and antithetical to FI.

Conscious, deliberate spending is not necessarily so.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Richard3

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2012, 08:24:30 AM »
Yes.

Spending money on any thing or activity that isn't strictly necessary for physical survival is antithetical to FI and anyone who does it should be sent to a frugality education camp immediately. :)

nevinera

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2012, 11:07:20 AM »
>sent to a frugality education camp immediately

Is that free?

bdub

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2012, 11:33:07 AM »
>sent to a frugality education camp immediately

Is that free?

Can I ride my bike there or do i have to *gasp* drive my car?

smedleyb

« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2012, 03:47:24 PM »
I've seen the light.

Just swapped my smart phone for a courier pigeon. 

MrSaturday

• Stubble
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2012, 05:33:20 PM »
I've seen the light.