Author Topic: Is gardening stuff, DIY tools, etc... "allowed" ?  (Read 1923 times)

Santiago

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is gardening stuff, DIY tools, etc... "allowed" ?
« on: July 24, 2016, 01:24:45 PM »
Hello, I am a 22 years old student from France and have been recently more and more interested in the moustachian philosophy.

It seem like a very powerful way of living, however I have a few questions.

First, there's this whole stoic thing. I understand the need to don't crave useless stuff (iPad, random gadgets), overpriced stuff (a 30k$ car, a huge huge house...) and to optimize your life. But then, what about other kind of desires ? For example, I'd really like to be able to do more farming, build stuff, make electronic things (which is not only about personal pleasure, but also a more autonomous life)... which mean either a garden or a house big enough for containers garden/hydroponics, space to build stuff and the tools that goes with it... what does the philosophy of the moustache (man this sound like a cult or something) says about that ? By the way any advice on being able to have it as soon as possible would be nice, however don't feel like you have to spoon feed me everything.

Then, once you're retired. Technically once I'm there (easier said than done as I haven't started working yet) I could play video-games and do other pointless stuff. Playing video-games while you're still getting toward retirement is irrational (since you could spend that time either with people, or learning things that will help you by an enormous amount later). But once you're retired ? To add context to the question, keep in mind that I'm somewhat of an addict on this case so I might not be entirely partial.

What can I do with those two things ? Any help (tips, links, whatever) would be appreciated. Thanks.

csprof

• Stubble
Re: Is gardening stuff, DIY tools, etc... "allowed" ?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2016, 02:16:39 PM »