Author Topic: Is FI really that simple?  (Read 5483 times)

bob999

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is FI really that simple?
« on: February 22, 2018, 03:24:13 AM »
Hi Guys,

I have been investing into the realestate market for over 15 years and also started investing in index funds over the last few years since discovering MMM and other similar financial blogs. In Australia people (and books I read) used to say that property doubles every 7-10 years (what a bunch of bullshit, non of my properties have done this).

All the financial books I have ready and blogs and financial superstars like Mr Buffett all say to invest in index funds such as Vanguard. My basic understanding is that 'the market' will produce goods and services that people will buy/use and 'the market' will keep pumping out dividends/profits over the long run. This cycle will not end but still a part of me questions,

Is achieving FI really as simple as:

Spend less than you earn, invest the difference in index funds.

If it is so simple then why aren't more people at least not broke at old age? If it is so simple then why isn't everyone who works 40+ years FI or close to it?

markbike528CBX

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Is FI really that simple?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2018, 05:04:34 AM »
Because,
most people don't:
1)Spend less than you earn

2) invest the difference in index funds

1)Spend less than you earn----- have you heard of credit cards?
There is a whole sub forum on shame and comedy.

2) invest the difference in index funds---  most people regard stocks and bonds as gambling.
So they  either, don't invest at all or
try to time the market and/or pick individual stocks "that just can't lose".

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2018, 05:05:01 AM »
Yes, it really is that simple.  Here's the two charts on why:

http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2012/01/13/the-shockingly-simple-math-behind-early-retirement/