Author Topic: Is career change mustchian?  (Read 4468 times)

Outlier

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is career change mustchian?
« on: September 19, 2014, 07:04:25 PM »
I'm trying to think long term about FI. Right now I'm paying off debt including my house and that's going to take about six years. I live in a rural area and have a long commute right now. I also work in an IT department and technology jobs are pretty scarce in rural areas.

Eventually I'd like to use my house as a rental property after I hit FI. In the near term I'd like to be able to have a job with less commute and more opportunity to make money. I live in a waterfront vacation town with lots of rentals and I work part time as a handy man to pay down my debt.

So for $297 I could take a real estate class and get my agents license. For that cost I would be able to start doing property management as a side business. I want to eventually have some kind of full time business outside the IT industry and this feels like a good opportunity.

Part of me wants to take a risk and try something new hoping it will build into a full time business or at least a job with less of a commute. Another part of me is saying that spending $297 on something that might be a pipe dream is dumb. Just pile on the after hours handy man work even harder and worry about big stuff like career changes after FI.

Side notes: I would not actually quit my full time job unless I was making as much or more in real estate. I would also not stop doing handy man work at any point until FI. I will continue towards the goal of FI in six years regardless of what direction I take here.

So is either option a good one? Is there a big gotcha I should have noticed? Is my thinking flawed to the point of needing a face punch?

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: Is career change mustchian?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2014, 07:30:48 PM »