Author Topic: Is Betterment trying to scare us into not believing the 4% rule?  (Read 7552 times)

FIKris

• Stubble
Has anyone else read this article? https://www.betterment.com/resources/retirement/investment-income-retirement/why-the-4-percent-rule-is-broken/  What do you think of their simulation that "shows" that a retiree will deplete their savings in they rely on the 4% rule? I don't like the fact that they are attempting to simulate the future...it seems like they're trying to scare us into thinking we need their retirement advisory service. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Is Betterment trying to scare us into not believing the 4% rule?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 07:56:19 AM »
Some critical analysis here: http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/betterment%27s-blog-post-about-the-4-rule/

Short answer: Yes, sort of. The fine print and article say different things.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

wtjbatman

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 08:44:40 AM »
Betterment isn't the only one questioning the 4% SWR (if that's what they're doing). I would feel comfortable saying the majority of Bogleheads believe the "4% rule" shouldn't be blindly followed going forward.

Not that everyone on the Bogleheads forum is a model of restraint or frugality, lol.

JCfire

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2015, 09:10:26 AM »
Betterment isn't the only one questioning the 4% SWR (if that's what they're doing). I would feel comfortable saying the majority of Bogleheads believe the "4% rule" shouldn't be blindly followed going forward.