Author Topic: Is anyone even a little scared to put all their money in investments?  (Read 8655 times)

simplertimes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Does anyone here have money in savings, and maybe even a stockpile of true cash in a safe at home or safety deposit box or something, in addition to their investments?

Clearly I'm very new to investing, but am I the only one who thinks that it would be nice to have some fallback options if there were some sort of great depression, terrorist attack or other situation (like hackers erasing all account data worldwide or something insane like that)? Not to sound like one of those people stockpiling guns and gold lol, but still it seems it would contribute to a sense of security to have some cold hard cash.  Just as I enjoy gardening and have all sorts of perennial items growing in the back yard (berries, fruit trees, etc.) which would help if there were some sort of natural disaster or societal breakdown...

onlykelsey

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Is anyone even a little scared to put all their money in investments?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2015, 08:19:05 PM »
If we're in those sorts of times, I don't think the FDIC or even US Treasury would necessarily stand up.  I think keeping a grand in cash somewhere in case there's a Hurricane Katrina equivalent is not crazy, but ultimately you may have to rely on your skills and frugality to get by in the new post-apocalyptic world, rather than a stash.

kendallf

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2015, 08:52:22 PM »
^this.  If you are really going to be a prepper, forget the cash, go straight for guns and canned goods.  Also, might want to join the Society for Creative Anachronism and brush up on your skills with a sword and battle axe.  You know, in case civilization collapses after Peak Oil or something weird happens (see S.M. Stirling's Emberverse series starting with Dies the Fire)..