Author Topic: Is a professional degree worth the additional debt for me?  (Read 11293 times)

GreenScallop

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is a professional degree worth the additional debt for me?
« on: June 28, 2016, 09:43:21 PM »
You've probably seen worse, but as a 20-year-old just awakening to the Mustachian world (thanks to my Senior Mustachian SO, who is on track to retire within a few years), I am feeling pretty hopeless. This enormous amount of student debt I've borne since I graduated college is steadily increasing with its high interest rates and causing me to see a very bleak future, tied eternally to a soul-sucking job and neverending commute.

I hold two bachelor degrees. Full scholarships paid my way, but I had the misfortune of heavily abusive yet well-off parents who mismanaged money and were always in the red. They forced me to take out the maximum amount of student loans for living expenses so that they could continue their exorbitant lifestyle. As soon as I was legally an adult, I got myself out of there, accepted the help of police and the court system, and began rebuilding my life...with $137k in debt, steadily growing every day.