Author Topic: Living on Passive Income: How Does it Actually Work?  (Read 2337 times)

DavidN

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Living on Passive Income: How Does it Actually Work?
« on: August 03, 2018, 10:18:41 PM »
I'm still really new to everything investment and finance related, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. I've been reading a ton of material and always enjoying making my way through the blog posts in chronological order.

One thing I keep seeing pop up is Mr. Money Mustache and others online talking about getting to the point where their living expenses are lower than their passive income, which means they can retire early. Obviously real estate rentals are a large part of some people's passive income, but what else is typically included in this? I see a lot of talk about prioritizing 401k and Roth IRA, for example, but both of those can't really be touched easily until you're 59.5 years of age, right?

Is all of the other passive income that people are talking about, and presumably withdrawing to pay for expenses if they retire before 60, from taxable investment accounts? Those always seem to be on the bottom of the investment priority lists out there, so I'm just trying to wrap my head around how people are doing this. Maxing out a 401k and one Roth IRA per spouse would $29,500 per year and it seems the recommendation to invest in taxable accounts only comes once you've done that.

Thanks again for any help clearing this up and sorry if there is a big stickied post on one of the boards.

mjr

• Bristles
  • Retired at 52

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Living on Passive Income: How Does it Actually Work?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2018, 11:24:04 PM »
I see a lot of talk about prioritizing 401k and Roth IRA, for example, but both of those can't really be touched easily until you're 59.5 years of age, right?

Thanks again for any help clearing this up and sorry if there is a big stickied post on one of the boards.
Like this one? :)