Author Topic: Investment order advice  (Read 2787 times)

StinkyCoach

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investment order advice
« on: September 10, 2018, 10:07:30 AM »
I've read through the investment order found here -  https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/investment-order/

If this is the wrong forum I apologize. Mods please let me know where to move it.

I am a public high school teacher and I have some questions about the suggested order.

0- Emergency fund is fine.

1 - I have about $16500 in my 403b. I just moved it from AXA to Security Benefit's Direct Invest. The Direct Invest is a much better option as the fees are Vanguard's fund expense ratio and an additional $30 a year. My employer contributes a small, $300 per year if I miss 3 days or less and am contributing that much myself. It goes into a separate matching account through a third party administrator which is combined with my 403b later when I leave district or retire. That's not much money, and it sounds like it's not going to be growing at all if I continue with the district until retirement.

2 - I have $5000 in debt that's been transferred to the Chase Slate card. I'm using any extra money at this point to pay that off before the zero % interest period is over. Since it's currently zero% should I just pay the minimum amount divided by the number of months left before the interest kicks back in and use the rest to invest? Or should I continue paying it down early?

3 - Our district offered an HSA for the first time this year. I'm maxing it out.

4 - I opened a Roth IRA through Fidelity but haven't put much in.

5 - 403b - This, like part 1 is the main sticking point. Not sure if I should contribute more than $300 in step 1 then max Roth IRA before coming to this.

The rest of the steps are pretty self explanatory. I have a mortgage but no other debt. Truck is paid off and I have a new bike to start my commutes to school.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Catbert

• Magnum Stache