Author Topic: Investment advice needed please UPDATED  (Read 7072 times)

tankhead

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investment advice needed please UPDATED
« on: October 08, 2014, 06:15:34 AM »
I have approximately 12000 dollars in credit card debt which I married into.  We are on track to pay off the only one with interest by Nov. ($2500.00) The next one is 0% until May which I will pay off by that month. The next one is 0% until Nov 2015.  I will be getting about $3500.00 from retro pay in my job before the end of the year.  I wanted to open up the Vangaurd index fund the Mr Money mentions in the first few blogs of his site. On vangaurds site it is a minimal $3000.00 investment.   Should I pay off the 0% debt first or invest that money?  Should I open it as an IRA, Roth IRA, or just a regular investment?  Wife contributes to her 401K with a match from emplyer up 6% but she is dumping about $10,000 this year

I am a teacher and have pension.  Trying to get into investments for future.

Thanks for the replies.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2015, 08:24:50 PM by tankhead »

VirginiaBob

• Bristles
    • LRJ Discounters
Re: Shall we play a game.... with my money?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 06:22:53 AM »
Ok, so what is the game?

Caella

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 06:35:11 AM »
Mathematically, if the debt is on 0% interest, you should invest and pay the debt later, while still on 0%, obviously.

BUT, having the peace of mind of being debt free is awesome, and sometimes it trumps the math! You have to decide what is best for you.

About the options, my guess is to put on tax deferred accounts first, until the max you can contribute for the year, then look at other options.

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 06:54:30 AM »
More information would be needed to be helpful:

1.  Do you have an emergency fund?  Is it large enough?  If not, how large do you want it.
2.  Any financial goals over the next five years?