Author Topic: Investing and retirement advice for a relatively recent college graduate  (Read 1513 times)

ashaw

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all, I am new to this forum, so I apologize if this should be in the Case Study section, however I didn't feel I have a super long story to summarize. Also, I realized I posted twice...that was an accident. I am seeking advice on investing in the stock market and how to start out, and retirement plans. I will get into that more below. But first...

Background:
I am a fairly recent college graduate (BA, September 2018). I am 24 years old. I have been working full time at law firms just to see if the legal field is right for me. Almost a year into working full time now, I've decided to pursue another route and much stronger passion/interests. That means I'll be leaving to a different city soon across the country and won't be living at home anymore (I've been living at home for about 4 months, the other months I stayed near my collegetown for a little while working). By the time I move out in a few months from now, I'll have saved close to approximately 8k. My future potential job will have a salary of approximately 45k, maybe more but that's highly unlikely.

Investing inquiry:
I have read The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham (quite dry!) and may buy A Random Walk On Wall Street as well to get more insight. I've also researched online a lot, asked my brother for advice/questions (he's a finance guy), and try to listen to Wall Street Breakfast podcast. This week I will begin reading articles online here as well.