Author Topic: Investing and retirement advice for a fairly recent college graduate  (Read 923 times)

ashaw

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all, I am new to this forum, so I apologize if this should be in the Case Study section, however I didn't feel I have a super long story to summarize. I am seeking advice on investing and how to start out. I will get into that more below. But first...

Background:
I am a fairly recent college graduate (BA, September 2018). I am 24 years old. I have been working full time at law firms just to see if the legal field is right for me. Almost a year into working full time now, I've decided to pursue another route and much stronger passion/interests. That means I'll be leaving to a different city soon across the country and won't be living at home anymore (I've been living at home for about 4 months, the other months I stayed near my collegetown for a little while working). By the time I move out in a few months from now, I'll have saved close to approximately 8k. My future potential job will have a salary of approximately 45k, maybe more but that's highly unlikely.

Investing inquiry:
I have read a bit of The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham (quite dry so it'll take a while!) and may buy A Random Walk On Wall Street as well to get more insight. I've also researched online and asked my brother for advice/questions (he's a finance guy). I'm currently investing a few hundred in one stock right now (that my brother advised me of) but want to really start getting into it. By that I mean I think I want to start putting money into an index like VTI, or S&P 500 (but that's very expensive right now for my income). My idea behind this is that it's a good route for a beginner to get his/her foot in the door, sorta speak while I continue research/learning over the next year or so. What do you think about this? If it's a good idea, which one should I start building in and why? After this year I want to invest more elsewhere, like in ETFs.