Author Topic: Invest or pay down loan?  (Read 3843 times)

Azide

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Invest or pay down loan?
« on: March 04, 2012, 12:42:54 AM »
Hello everyone,

Really liking this forum and whole website, I was just hoping to get some advice about what to do with some money I'll be getting over the summer. I'm a first year medical student in Canada, so I have a lot of student debt, most of which is through the government so it doesn't accumulate interest. However I'll have about $12,000 debt through the bank by the end of the school year. The interest is at prime, which is around 3%. I have secured a research job for the summer and I think I'll be making about $5,000 for 10 weeks of work. I don't know much about investing, aside from some basics learned from reading the articles on here, but I have some friends who have been quite successful at investing so I was just thinking if it would be worth it at this point in my life. Does anyone have input on what to do with the money, I know it is not a lot, but if I put it in something that was long term, it would probably give me a return greater than 3%, right? Or should I just put it all towards my bank loan and not even think about investing until I have paid off all my debt? Most doctors in Canada (US is a different story with their insane tuition) can pay off their debt quickly once they start work, so that's why I was thinking to start investing now and start building a portfolio, as opposed to my first investment being at age 30.

RWD

• Walrus Stache
Re: Invest or pay down loan?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 02:00:16 PM »

RWD

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2018, 02:14:37 PM »
Invest.

Oops, by habit I linked to the USA section of that thread. But if you scroll down there are posts about Canada too. Same principals apply in this case though. You should be investing instead of paying down low interest debt.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2018, 02:16:14 PM by RWD »

thefrugalfuyanger