Author Topic: Introduction and Life Guidance - At the turning point  (Read 4255 times)

KOdelphia

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Introduction and Life Guidance - At the turning point
« on: January 14, 2017, 01:39:26 PM »
Hi everyone, and thanks in advance for the advice.  I'm 29, my wife and I have finally cleared out our college and dumb car debt, and I'm formulating my plan to get out of the game, and could use some perspective and advice.  I'm going to attempt to keep this a reasonable length, so please don't assume I'm asking everyone to do the work for me, but also, please assume I'm an idiot and educate me as much as you are up to. 

The wrinkle in my plan vs the typical folks on here is that I am an officer in the Military, and plan to do my 20 years and retire at 42-45.  Not exactly EER I know, but I love what I do, love serving, and I get these free world travel, health care and retirement benefits that I just don't want to give up.  So anyway, I'm 29, have just over 8 years in (commissioned 6 years ago but got this amazing deal where my last 2 years of college counted as enlisted and towards pay and retirement), and just recently got my debt and everything taken care of.  Make just over 100k annually, only 65 of which is taxable (rest is special pay/allowances), and my wife just got out of the navy, won't have a steady income for a year or so while we move and find her a job or she starts using GI bill, but has a masters in biology and will be fine.  If I retire as planned, I would make something in the range of 45-60k annually in retirement, and plan to buy a house with a ton of money down or outright +/- 3 years of that.  My wife and I have about 25k saved between the two of us, with 12k emergency fund as well(a little high, but we're moving in June.)