Author Topic: internet/comcast  (Read 2109 times)

umterp1999

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 89
internet/comcast
« on: February 21, 2015, 10:19:21 AM »
So we have comcast internet.  Its the only game in town, except for satellite internet.  I don't know anything about that, does any one have it?  Anyways comcast rasied their prices as always.  And I called customer retention and tried all my tricks and best I could do was get another "promo" rate, which was still about 10.00 more than I was paying.  I even threatened to cancel right there on the phone.  I could about five dollars by going to their slowest "economy" internet.  How slow is that?  We don't watch movies or game online.  Mostly just business stuff and reading.  Would this slower internet meet our needs?  Would it be worth it for 5 dollars?

Fighting with these companies is almost a FT job!

tallen

  • Stubble
  • **
  • Posts: 158
Re: internet/comcast
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2015, 10:38:12 AM »
I have the economy internet and it works fine for me. We just use it for netflix and surfing and can do both at the same time with no issues. Hope that helps!

MacGyverIt

  • Stubble
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Location: Not in a tropical, underpopulated location. And that's just wrong.
  • What Would MacGyver Do?
Re: internet/comcast
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2015, 12:21:09 PM »
I have the economy internet and it works fine for me. We just use it for netflix and surfing

+1
Worked fine for me until I realized may of the Amazon Prime videos are only available in HD and it constantly choked. But Netflix + surfing, it is ideal.

Travis

  • Magnum Stache
  • ******
  • Posts: 3272
  • Location: South Korea
Re: internet/comcast
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2015, 01:01:36 PM »
If your COMCAST carrier offers 7MBps that will be enough to run HD television.

netskyblue

  • Pencil Stache
  • ****
  • Posts: 637
  • Location: Midwest USA
Re: internet/comcast
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2015, 01:25:05 PM »
Trick I learned with netflix on a PC - press pause, then ctrl + shift and left-click your mouse on the screen. There's a menu option called stream manager.  Choose that and you can choose the rate at which your movie plays.   It defaults to 3000, but I play it on 1000-something all the time, uses less bandwidth, *I* don't notice a quality difference, and it doesn't constantly stop to buffer.  I don't know how to set this permanently though, I have to change it every movie/episode.

(My ISP has a data cap and we are charged extra if we go over.  Choosing a lower whatever-it-is ends up using less of our data)