Author Topic: Interest Rate Math Question (sigh)  (Read 3784 times)

Workinghard

• Pencil Stache
Interest Rate Math Question (sigh)
« on: April 30, 2014, 03:00:24 PM »
What's is the difference in money earned if I had 35k in a savings account with Ally at 0.87% APY and interest rate versus the same amount at MMA in SunTrust at 0.05 APY and interest over the course of a year? I'm trying to decide if it's worth changing since we keep a large balance in our checking account anyway of 2-3 month's bills.

homeymomma

• Bristles
Re: Interest Rate Math Question (sigh)
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2014, 03:09:03 PM »
I'm not good at this stuff. I'm seeing this too simply perhaps.
35k x .0087 = 304
35k x .0005 = 17

Am I wrong?

Seems worth switching to me.

griffin

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2014, 03:36:26 PM »
I'm not good at this stuff. I'm seeing this too simply perhaps.
35k x .0087 = 304
35k x .0005 = 17

Am I wrong?

Seems worth switching to me.
Nope you're entirely correct, assuming the amount of money in the account remains unchanged throughout the year. 35k is a lot of cash, but if you're sure you want to hold onto that much I'd definitely switch!

lb

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2014, 04:07:05 PM »
We have about 40K in the same Ally Money Market account at  0.87% that we are saving for a downpayment on a house. It throws off about 30 bucks a month in interest. Free $!

Workinghard

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2014, 04:09:49 PM »
Awesome! I'll "save" the calculations so I know how to do it in the future. The cash is for a vacation next year to Europe, a replacement car when we need it (ours are 12 and 15 yrs old), and possible roof replacement looming in the future.

Thanks for the help!

Lb, was there a reason you went with the MMA vs the savings account?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2014, 06:01:51 PM »