Author Topic: Interest-free student loan  (Read 3912 times)

Miss Webb

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Interest-free student loan
« on: August 31, 2014, 04:26:40 PM »
Hi,
Apologies if this question has already been addressed; I'm new to the Mustachian forum and after a little bit of advice.

Currently my only debt is my c.$40k student loan. In New Zealand we don't have to pay interest on our student loans. I'm paying it off at the minimum amount, which is about 8% of my income, directly debited from my pay. I'm also saving 8% of my income into a kiwisaver account (401K equivalent I guess) and saving another c.10% of my income into a personal savings account earning 4.5% interest. Both of these I intend to put toward a house deposit within the next 5 years.

If you were in my position would you pay of the interest-free student loan as quickly as possible by diverting more (interest earning) savings towards it or would you continue to pay it off at the minimum?

Cheers,
Miss Webb

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Re: Interest-free student loan
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2014, 04:47:25 PM »
Personally, I don't pay off zero percent loans, so I would put your money other places, if I was in your situation.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 09:24:52 PM »
+1

Why would you pay more on a 0% loan instead of putting money toward better uses?

MGeegs

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2014, 10:27:07 PM »
Miss Webb we are almost in the same situation! I am not paying any more than the minimum on my loan. I would prefer to save any extra money or invest it.

I thought the min. payment was 12% though?

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2014, 01:22:10 AM »