Author Topic: Intentional Relocation (within Australia) as a Free Agent  (Read 4971 times)

Vespa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Intentional Relocation (within Australia) as a Free Agent
« on: October 18, 2016, 06:21:50 AM »
Greetings,
I thought I'd pick the frugal Oz brain trust on potential places for relocation.  Some of you may have already gone thru a similar process and I seek your insight.  Rather than try to craft the perfect first post, I'm going to crush my perfectionistic tendencies this time and just get a discussion going.

Current situation:
I work in the mining industry and it's been going thru a very rough patch.  There have already been severe budget cuts.  Although my manager would prefer to retain my services, the choice might not be up to him.  I live and work in a remote area and my accommodation is provided by the business.  If my current employment ends , I will effectively be homeless.  Since this has become a fairly small industry, I cannot divulge any further details.

Constraints:
The destination should have a relatively low COL and have the following amenities:

•library,
•markets / grocery stores,
•reasonably priced internet service (ADSL or better),
•hardware stores

More Specifications as requested:
•Climate: Mediterranean or similar (I do not have to live by the coast), average annual temperature range 0 to 35
•Town size: Preference is for small town (caveat: if the town is too small, there seems to be a tendency for it to collapse so there has to be a certain "critical mass", how does >25k population sound as a cutoff for stability? Let's discuss)
•natural hazards: Prefer to be away from flood and fire zones
•Exclusions: NT and Tassie
•Work: Based on my informal survey of industry colleagues, near-term re-employment potential in the field is grim.  I'd say any re-employment would have to be a side hustle found locally.