Author Topic: Inheritance Coming - Starting over at 40  (Read 5266 times)

bawaboy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Inheritance Coming - Starting over at 40
« on: September 14, 2013, 07:44:31 PM »
I am new to the Mustachian way of life/thinking and am looking for some advice from the seasoned veterans - many thanks in advance.

40 years old, married with 2 kids and a $100k annual household income. We have been paying down our debts methodically - knowing full well the pain of being a debt slave. We went thru a foreclosure 2 years ago, when my job moved us and we couldn't sell our home due to a bad market. We have $50k equity in the home we live in currently but no credit. I am actually ok with the "no credit" piece as we have no plans on ever obtaining another credit card and with all we have been thru financially, I can live with our 6.125% mortgage until things get better. Just thankful to have a place to call home.

We have about $25k in debts to payoff. They include:

$11,000 - Discovercard at 18%
$3500 - School loan at 6%
$5,000 - Line of Credit at 8%
$6,000 - Credit Card 19%

Assets include:

$50,000 - equity in current home (was told it is a minimum of 3 years from date of foreclosure before we can consider a re-fi)
$50,000 - 401K
$1500 - savings
Both cars are paid for - approx. value of $8,000 on the Durango and $2500 on the Grand Am.

We will be receiving a $50,000 inheritance in the coming weeks. I really want to be prepared for it and have a plan ready to go. The common sense thing would be to pay off the $25k in debt and owe on nothing but the house. That leaves us with $25k leftover  - any advice on what to do with this?

The only major annual expense we have is the need to save $5600 for property taxes as we don't escrow that. I am also thinking that with no credit available that we want to remain somewhat liquid with our investments? Any/all advice is welcome and appreciated. Let me know if I can provide any other info to help you with your assessment.

God Bless!