Author Topic: Inflation and Mustaches  (Read 1739 times)

kelvin

• Stubble
Inflation and Mustaches
« on: March 15, 2017, 04:03:46 AM »
Some news outlets and financial bloggers believe that inflation may show up under the current POTUS.

http://money.cnn.com/2016/12/12/investing/donald-trump-bonds-inflation-fed/

What is the proper response to inflation, from an investor's standpoint? Move everything into gold?

Personally, I'm a recent graduate with some student debt, no CC or other debt, no assets to speak of. How will inflation affect my debt? Will it make my debts easier or harder to pay off?

vivophoenix

• Bristles
Re: Inflation and Mustaches
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 06:21:06 AM »
I will address the part about your debts.

IF they are fixed rate, it will make them easier, and if your wage rises.

usually, people get raises each year, in response to inflation( can not speak for everyone).
so that means that monthly payment, although it numerically stays the same through out inflation, its value is less

For example:

you owe $100 a month in 2017
you make $50,000/year
but inflation rises 10% in one year.

the next year(2018) you will still owe $100 a month
but you now earn $50, 500/year, that is 5 extra payments towards that debt, and you did nothing different in 2018.

usually to purchase the item or service you got in 2017, it costs 10% more in 2018.  if it wasn't something frivolous it may be an item or service that is not worth more dollars.

vivophoenix

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 06:24:35 AM »
now for your investor question

gold is not a bet against inflation

but proper investments should outpace inflation. If you get the average S&P return of 8% /year, and inflation occurs at about 3%. you still will earn 5% profit.

Also, all of the math done by MMM takes inflation into account. the 4% drawdown rule,  assumes a loss to inflation and also attempts to preserve principal.

TreesBikesLove

• 5 O'Clock Shadow