Author Topic: Independent Contracting  (Read 6414 times)

Mr. McGibblets

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Independent Contracting
« on: July 27, 2015, 11:20:05 AM »
I am a consultant for an IT company. I generally like it here, but I cannot stand how the company makes more than twice what they're paying me at my bill rate. I wanted to ask for insight from those who have started independent contracting.

Questions that come to mind are:

1. How hard is it to find work/create a robust network? Did you have to go through headhunters? The one nice thing about working for a consulting firm is that even if you aren't staffed on a project, you still get paid.
2. Factoring in wages and benefits, does the higher hourly rate outweigh the cost of insurance, other benefits?
3. Probably most importantly, did the decision to become an independent contractor progress you in your FI goals?

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Independent Contracting
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2015, 12:05:14 PM »
You'll have to pay self employment taxes (the 7.65% for SS + MC that your employer pays for you) on top of what you normally pay. But you can contribute extra to a solo 401k. You'll probably also spend a lot of time (unbillable) at first finding business for yourself.

protostache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2015, 12:32:28 PM »
I switched from full-time salaried to independent consulting last September, primarily working on Rails applications but I dabble in Django, various devops projects, and I actually do a bit of business consulting.

Answers to your questions: