Author Topic: Independent Consultant - Charge one or two days for hotel?  (Read 1658 times)

loudriscoll

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Independent Consultant - Charge one or two days for hotel?
« on: January 27, 2019, 08:20:33 PM »
Hello,
I am a new independent consultant.  Recently, a well established customer wanted me to travel to on site.  It is 250 miles each way that I drove.  Obviously, I needed a hotel so I could get to their location in the morning.  Once the day was over, (full day 8-5), I stayed again as I didn't want to travel 250 miles back.  Should I charge the customer for one or two hotel days?

pk_aeryn

• Stubble
Re: Independent Consultant - Charge one or two days for hotel?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 08:27:15 PM »
When I hire contractors I expect them to ask or negotiate this with me ahead of time- there’s not necessarily a right or wrong answer. If you know them to be a generous client try two and see what they say.

Gremlin

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2019, 06:41:07 PM »
In future, I would agree travel and incidentals up front.  I've had clients who would have an expectation that no hotel expenses should be covered for one day of work.  As pk_aeryn said, there's no right or wrong, just what you agree.

Kayad

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2019, 10:23:17 PM »
If I were a small business owner hiring you I think I would be a bit tiffed about the night #2 charge with no advance negotiation/approval.

ShoulderThingThatGoesUp

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2019, 04:14:43 AM »
What would you have done when you were a W2 employee doing work for this client? That’s probably what they expect.

toganet

• Stubble
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2019, 05:37:02 AM »
When I hire consultants my company requires we determine these costs up front (and they cap them at 10% of the overall spend).