Author Topic: In college and not sure of my chosen major.  (Read 3208 times)

redwood_canyon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
In college and not sure of my chosen major.
« on: December 05, 2018, 06:24:40 PM »
Hello my name is Nathan, I am a college student going through a dilemma. I am interested in engineering and in the Material Science department. But as a freshman, I am not doing well in the core math and chemistry classes. I am not sure if I can continue on this path for the next few years. I am not really that interested in Material Science given my tiny bit of exposure. I am thinking about possibly switching my major to something else, possibly business, English, or something else. Teaching also interests me as my family has a few teachers in it. My fall back plan is to work with my Dad as an insurance agent. I enjoyed MMM's post of the 50 jobs that pay around 50k but I am not sure how to get into anything like that.  Does anyone have recommendations on how to figure this out? Or a personal story they would like to share in response?

nic1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: In college and not sure of my chosen major.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 07:18:03 PM »
I think it is great you are reaching out for advice, it is tough being in college and not sure of your interests and aptitude in certain subjects.
My husband is an electrical engineer, so this is not from personal experience but I was married to him while he completed his degree.
I will say if you are struggling with your freshman math and science classes, this may be a sign that this is not the right path.  I actually had a Physician colleague tell me he dropped out of the engineering program and went into pre-med because he couldn't handle the math classes.  The junior and senior level math is insanely difficult, my husband's math problems were like pages long in higher level calculus.  This is not to discourage you, but just a realistic perspective.