Author Topic: Implications of marrying a high NW partner  (Read 5287 times)

Saffron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Implications of marrying a high NW partner
« on: January 08, 2021, 10:07:37 AM »
My long term boyfriend recently disclosed to me that he has a higher net worth that I ever imagined after receiving an inheritance.  We've been talking about getting engaged soon and I'm just a little taken aback by the NW disclosure. If we combine finances when we get married I'd find myself suddenly FI a few times over. Does anyone have any experience with having a partner with such a disparate difference in NW?

A little detail about both of us:

We both live pretty modestly. I'm a ~30F engineering professional. I've been working towards FI since about 2017, about when I hit zero NW after paying off student loans and whatnot. I hit $100K NW in 2019 and am on track to hit $250K NW this year. I had hoped hit coast fi in 2-3 years and FI in 10. I'm pretty darn frugal, have a paid off car and rent a small house, with an annual spend of altogether of ~$45K. He is a few years older than me and has what many would describe as a leisure job. He lives like a monk, has a small condo, and his biggest excess is having his dream car (a used, midrange sportscar).

I know I need to sit down an talk with him about this, but I want to get my thoughts in order before we have a deep conversation.  For now, I'm going to keep working like we're seprate units, but when we get engaged/married I won't have that luxury.

Some of my concerns:

• How will this effect my career? I could potentially pursue more interesting/risky jobs without money being motivating factor. I like, but don't love my current job.
  • What about when we have kids? It would open more opportunity/pressure to downshift in my career. How do we do this equitably?