Author Topic: Im new here..... SLAP ME IN THE FACE ! ( Canadian )  (Read 25683 times)

tyhatts

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Im new here..... SLAP ME IN THE FACE ! ( Canadian )
« on: January 16, 2013, 10:13:46 AM »
Hey all.... I guess I will start by introducing myself/Family
I'm 27 yrs old... my Wife(common-law) is 25. We have a son who will be 1 in March.

We live in a small home in Ontario. I work in Sales for a John Deere Dealer and She works as a PSW at the "city" retirement home.

2013 is the year to start planning for the future. I know we are getting a late start. BUT with the addition of our son, it really kicked our asses into gear.

Our plans for the future are :

Long term
- Retirement Savings
- Education savings for the kids.

Mid Term
- New home in 3 yrs
- One more child
- A nice "nest egg" for emergencies, kids, etc.
- Our FIRST vacation ALONE ! We have never EVER gone on a trip by our self in the 11 yrs together. This actually might fall under mid term..

Short Term
- debt pay off
- emergency Fund
- Savings
- Fix up certain areas of the Current home Siding, Bathroom ( Very small bathroom) MAYBE kitchen. This is all being done to ad value @ selling time.

Our situation is a little unique because Wifey works "part time/call-ins" ... she is basically guaranteed 3 shifts a week. So her paycheck will ALWAYS vary from week to week. I work on Salary/Commission.... SO my weekly pay check is X amount.... but my monthly commissions could be any amount of $$.... or ZERO ( These months suck lol)

Our month fixed expenses, for both of us, are pushing the $2000 mark .... this doesn't included the variable spending. 
Variable spending is approx. $3000/month on average. INSANE ..... trust me I know :(

Last year I made approx. $90K and the wife was on Sick/Maternity Leave the whole year.... Her income was approx $30000 ( unemployment, baby bonus, etc. )

SO i guess the Finances break down like this.... roughly

Debt
- Mortgage = $74596 @ 3.75%