Author Topic: if you had to start your career over at 35, what would you do?  (Read 29253 times)

Aigeus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Second post today after just joining the board--this one on a totally different question (my other post was about caring for aging parents).  I'm a lawyer, and we have this extra fun thing in our careers called "up-or-out," which means that if you can't convince major corporations to trust you (a 30-something with only a few years of experience) with multi-million dollar cases (when they could hire people with three times your experience given that there is a glut for legal talent), you will ultimately lose your job.  Even if you're technically qualified and do good work, at some point firms think it doesn't make sense to keep you on the payroll unless you can bring in business.  Not that I blame them really.  But it's not good for us.

Now I know your first piece of advice is going to be "learn to bring in business" and your second might be "apply the principles of mustachianism, then you can retire by the time the up-or-out problem hits, and you won't have to worry about it."  My response would be that I will try my best to do the former, even though it will be tough since I'm not a natural people person.  And I do take comfort in the fact that I might be able to retire if I'm careful about my finances.  But even if I get to that point, I probably would not want to sit around the house all day without some sort of purpose.  I would likely want to take my 'stache and go back to school, start a business, write, or do something else that at least would make me feel productive.